• Register
  • Help

Topic: why no sound?

Share/Bookmark

why no sound?

Hey all-

I've been reading these forums for the past month or two preparing to take the plunge, so I did it, and now I'm stuck.

First of all, I'm new to this sampling thing. I have a lot of experience recording regular old music both analog and on my DAW, and I've used some VSTi's in the past, but never a sampling app like GS3.

Ok, so I have a system dedicated to giga as follows:

P4 2.6GHz, 1G RAM, XP SP2, no other software but GS3
    M-Audio USB Midisport 2x2 midi interface
    Echo Mia (NOT MiaMIDI) audio card

I just got everything installed last night and attempted to play it.

I run GS3, load an instrument (in this case GigaPiano LE), set it to channel 1, try to play it. No sound comes out. Try to play it with the keyboard (QS8.1), no sound. Use the little picture of a keyboard in GS3, the keys darken as if they are being played but no sound.

Windows sound control panel, the "play sound" button will play sounds and I can hear them just fine. just nothing from giga.

When I play the keyboard I can see the MIDI activity LEDs blinking as if the interface is receiving, but no sounds from giga.

I have GS3 configured properly, at least according to the manual, to output sound to channels 1 & 2 of the Mia. I even tried setting it to all the other channels as well and listening to all of them. Nothing seems to work. I tried the MIDI monitor or whatever it is in GS3, it shows program changes but not note-on-note-off msg's.

What gives? Any clues? I didn't do an exhaustive read of the manual, but did exhaustively read the quick start guide and it didn't deal with the "how to get sound" thing... just assumed it would work.

Any help is appreciated (and FWIW, the whole purpose I put this machine together is to run the Black Grand... which I have not yet received in the mail).

Re: why no sound?

It seems that you're inches away from getting this thing working.