• Register
  • Help

Topic: Number of sample in buffer

samples in buffer per 1GB

I've read a few threads on GS3's utilisation of memory - 60 or 70% max

so in theory 2 GB is better than 1 GB (but then I've heard of some poor sole who has 4 Gb and is loading less than some with just 1GB)

But how many samples is this?

How many samples can one load with 1GB of RAM?
    (note: stereo will use 2 the amount of buffer than mono)

400+ notes poly is nice, but not much use to me if I can't get much more samples in than with my current 2.5 (x2) set up

A VSL sample library could cause some probs

Re: Number of sample in buffer

It's exactly what I would like to know, I'm only a musician and I owned G.2 several years ago, but what's the truth :
    How many samples (with such instruments like VSL, SAM etc...) can we load and what's the polyphony we can expect?
    I've 2 Gb memory with 2 hard drives and 3.2 Ghz cpu and with G2.54 when more than 10 instruments are playing I experience some stolen polyphony.
    Is it worth to upgrade to G3 or is Tascam lying when it tells that the limitation is only the computer?
    It's very confusing and we spend a lot of time with the hardware instead of composing. If anybody has already tested the soft with a massive orchestration it would be very appreciated he let us know his result.

Sicmu, in regards to polyphony count... the upgrade is surely worth it- in my opinion. I too work with a P4 3.2, 2 GB RAM and have achieved over 2.5X more polyphony with GS3 than I did with 2.54.