• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Windows 2000 vs. XP!

Share/Bookmark

Windows 2000 vs. XP!

Has the GPO been developed to work better with one OS over another?

My 768MB of RAM would probably be stretched a bit further if I ran Win2K instead of XP Pro.... but I don't want to do so if the program won't run properly!
    "AAAAUUUUGGHHHHHHH!!!!!!" -- Charlie Brown

Arrow Re: Windows 2000 vs. XP!

Hmmmm....now *that* is opening a can of worms.

My personal experience has been that XP is a very stable, effecient operating system for both GPO and other audio software. I have been using XP for over two years now and can count the number of times XP has locked up on 3 fingers. (That would be 3 times. ) After tweaking XP based upon information at http://www.musicxp.net I have found XP to be running more efficiently (in some cases by over 50%!) than I could ever get Win2k to run.

Long story short, I don't see how you can lose with XP. However, if you go with Win2k you probably won't be bad off either.

-Kevin
    We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams …
    24" 2.4 Ghz iMac, OSX 10.4.10, MOTU 828 MKII, 2 Glyph 250 Gig external drives, Logic 9, Finale 2008 GPO, JABB, Strad, Gro, Reason 4, EWQL Storm Drum, Adrenaline, Symphonic Choirs, SO Gold,All Arturia Synths, Many NI Synths, Spectrasonics Synths, KH Strings, VEPro on a Windows 7 4x 2.8 Ghz 12 gig of RAM

Thumbs up Re: Windows 2000 vs. XP!

I will agree with LFO on XP. However, and this is coming from a person with hard experience, if you can afford not to use the same unit for internet uses and use it for music only, do so! My system is in now for problems and from what the tech says, it's all Internet based. Unfortunately, I do not have the resources for another system for internet use.

Viva la Microsoft!
    Styxx

Re: Windows 2000 vs. XP!