• Register
  • Help

Topic: Hello and a question

Share/Bookmark

Hello and a question

Hello all! My name is Matt and I've been perusing the forums for about a year now, but I figured now would be a good time to introduce myself. I'm currently a freshman at UW-Eau Claire and am undecided. My number 1 and 2 interests are music and video games (you can probably guess what my 3rd is)and early last year I decided that I should probably put them together.
    My (stupid newbie) question is:
    What would you folks recommend that I do as far as education. Is it really necessary to get a job in game audio, or do employers favor industry experience?
    Thank you for your time if you can answer my question. I hope I can actually contribute something to the boards in the future.
    Peace,
    Matt

Re: Hello and a question

industry experience, industry experience and industry experience....

If you can get that you likly have the education you need. That said its always good to educate one self, but this can also be done in the old "learn by doing way"

Unfortunately this can be quite a catch because if you don't have experience, it's hard for someone to hire you hence you can't get experience and the vicious cycle continues.
    >>Kays
    http://www.musicbykays.com
    Music Composition for Feature Films, Television and Interactive Entertainment

Although experience is preferred, I'd definitely would try to get a good education. With the power of hindsight I can say that personally a couple of classes in orchestration, music theory and composition wouldn't have gone amiss.
    The game industry is more and more becoming a very serious one, and filmcomposers such as Harry Gregson Williams and Danny Elfman are already partaking in it.

My advice would be:
    -Know your tools, and know them well. That means getting to grips with your sequencer of choice intimately, and also getting some Protools experience.