• Register
  • Help

Topic: Real Vibrato and crafting phrases

Real Vibrato and crafting phrases

I thought I would start a new thread here about getting everything possible from a two bar lick or phrase. I’m a sax player and I have been around Cubase SX for years but I am new to Garritan. I have this friend and Cubase Guru Tony who has been with Cubase full time since it was on the Atari – writing and producing for others. He feeds his family entirely from using SX and works hard every day. He’s just back in the UK from over the pond - setting up a studio – We meet regularly.

I agree with Tony that you set up your relationship with SX/Garritan in a specific way. There are many ways to work with GPO, so its easy to start with the wrong concepts. I am sure this is true of any quality sequencer.

My SX2/GPO system is set up so that:

 Midi channels in the mixer are ignored. Everythnig is audio. (Makes setting levels so much simpler, and giving access to more powerful plugins).
     Reverb unit is set up as sends. I usually use one instance of Garritan Ambience (GA) and control the level individually for each instrument. You can use more, but really only if really required.
     The Audio outputs of each Garritan slot show in the mixer – as audio only – and can be automatically/ manually crafted for individual reverb slopes.
     Any broad mixing of track levels is done in Cubase’s mixer.
     Any other audio effect or plugin can be sent to any channel instrument or even just a single note.
     There is minimum load on the CPU

It’s a lot to set up first time round, but after saving ‘as template’ in SX, its your Tabula Rasa- your blank slate. It’s a once only job.

I could post about this if there are requests.

All this is a digression… cos I want to talk about real Vibrato.