• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: My first trip to a live orchestra . . .

Share/Bookmark

My first trip to a live orchestra . . .

On Friday night, I had my first chance to attend a live orchestra, so I thought I'd write a little review of my experience. It was the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra, and the program included Prokofiev's Symphony No 1, Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No 1, and Tchaikovsky's Symphony No 6.

I was able to get a free ticket to the orchestra since I am a student at the college the performance was held. And with all the tuition I am paying, I certainly deserved it! When I arrived, the first thing I noticed was that most of the people there were old people. I certainly have nothing against old people, but with students able to get free tickets, why didn't more students come? I felt left out as the old people enjoyed wine, for alas, I am too young to legally drink alcohol.

I walked into the concert hall and took my seat, near the middle but off to the side, where I could clearly see the violin players. Before the performance started, I felt bad for a woman in front of me who had decided to bring her baby. Perhaps she thought the baby would sleep, but of course it cried loudly instead. After much of the crowd stared at her meanly, she left with her baby and I didn't see her come back. Next to me sat two fellow students, however they seemed to think the symphony was the right place to show their affection for one another. I guess they finally got bored of the music, becuase they didn't show up for any of the other pieces after the first.

The first piece, Prokofiev's Symphony No 1, was played perfectly. The sound of a real live orchestra sounds a lot better than anything you can do on a computer. I think that's mostly because of the limits of computer speakers. At a live orchestra, the entire sound seems to surround you; it's an awesome experience.