• Register
  • Help

Topic: Better way to notate this?

Share/Bookmark

Better way to notate this?

This is a strange question, but this is how a melody looks in a piece I'm working on (it's just part of a longer melody, of course). The time sig is 4/4

I'm not really a notation expert, but this notation looks kind of . . . disgusting.

Is there a more elegant way for this to be notated? Or could a musician handle this easily?
    Sean Patrick Hannifin
    My MP3s | My Melody Generator | my album
    "serious music" ... as if the rest of us are just kidding

Re: Better way to notate this?

Quote Originally Posted by SeanHannifin
    Is there a more elegant way for this to be notated?
    Yes there is....Three first notes OK, then one sixteen tied to am eight. After it is OK, just that the two first notes in the second bar have to be beamed.
    Iwan

yeah, that looks really awkward. I was trying to figure out a way to make it look nicer in notation software, but I can't really. I also tried mssing around with the key signature (i tried putting it in 6/8) but it didn't go as well as I initially thought it might. The only things that I'd suggest doing is removing the bar on the 2 dotted 8th notes or just replacing them they an 8th note tied to a 16th note. That's what I'd do. The second measure is fine.
    Tim

yes it should be notated differently. I don't have time at the moment to notate it out and send a pic, but basically, the two dotted eighth notes that are beamed, should not be beamed that way.
    "Music is a manifestation of the human spirit similar to a language. If we do not want such things to remain dead treasures, we must do our utmost to make the greatest number of people understand their secrets" -- Zoltan Kodaly

Igor is right. The only thing I might add is making a dotted half in bar 2 instead of tying the quarter and half together.

Jeff

Is this better?

Thanks! I am un-noteworthy.
    Sean Patrick Hannifin