• Register
  • Help

Topic: Giga 3 & Sonar

Question Giga 3 & Sonar

I'm a Cakewalk/Sonar veteran but a bit of a newbie when it comes to soft samplers. I've obviously tried the bundled Vsampler within Sonar but was never very impressed with it and the saga of the manual........
    Basically I'm thinking of taking the plunge and purchasing Giga3 but before I do I would really appreciate any advice fellow forum members wouldn't mind passing on.
    Initially I'll be running Giga 3 on the same PC as Sonar3 (P4 2.4, 1gig Ram, 2x80gig drives,Win XP, Delta 1010) in Rewire mode. What kind of performanace/stability could I expect from this setup?
    It's a shame Tascam do not provide a downloadable demo. I've checked out NI's Kontakt, which I was generally impressed with but Giga seems to be the choice of pro users....I think :-)
    Once again any advice before I part with the cash would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.

Sorry...just done a forum search (Doh!!!) and found some interesting posts on the subject. However I'd still be interested in hearing of any other Giga3/Sonar users experiences.
    Last edited by Stewart; 10-25-2004 at 05:54 PM. Reason: Just done a forum search

Re: Giga 3 & Sonar

Hi Stewart,

Your system looks ideal for a GS3 system. As long as you have no weak links (under-rated power supply, cheap RAM or crummy mainboard), you should be good to go.

My system (AMD) is in the same ballpark as yours, performance-wise. I run Sonar 3 on the same machine as GS3 Orchestra, and I can get 256 voices when holding the sustain pedal and hammering on the ivories. That's 128 stereo voices. It would likely be less with some giant percussion piece with lots of hits at the same time. I can also run two GigaPulse instances reliably. Another measure is how big an orchestra you can load. I can load up all of the Vienna Giga Symphony, plus the PMI Bos 290 demo and still have room for more samples.