• Register
  • Help

Topic: I need help!

Share/Bookmark

I need help!

Hello!, My name is Camilo Atria, from Chile (I don`t speak very well the english), I am a Music Student and i am new in using samples.. I have some questions..

1- I have a soundblaster live soundcard, athlon xp 1800 and windows xp.. can I use gigastudio? (a friend of mine say that it doest works using SBlive!)

2- I interested in write orchestral scores, what software should i use?, can i use the samples?

3- i dont have any orchestral strings samples.. recomend me one =)

4- what i need to make my compositions in the pc!

thanks!! =)

Re: I need help!

Hey Camilo,

1- I have a soundblaster live soundcard, athlon xp 1800 and windows xp.. can I use gigastudio? (a friend of mine say that it doest works using SBlive!)

No, soundcards which run Gigastudio on XP version must have Nemesys \'GSIF\' drivers, and soundblaster cards do not. You could get an extra soundcard with a GSIF setup. On XP, Gigastudio does not work under MS Direct Sound. Gigastudio WILL work with a soundblaster on Windows 95, 98se or ME.

2- I interested in write orchestral scores, what software should i use?, can i use the samples?

I don\'t write scores on the PC, but many who do use Sibelius and are happy. Finale also gets a mention from time to time. If you are more of a \'player\' than a \'writer\', there are a few sequencer programs to choose from: Logic, Cubase and Sonar are the Big 3. Gigastudio and a sequencer running audio tracks on the one PC is difficult to do, but possible.

3- i dont have any orchestral strings samples.. recomend me one =)