• Register
  • Help

Topic: Soundcard question (SoundMax)

Share/Bookmark

Soundcard question (SoundMax)

Does anyone know if the "SoundMax" soundcard comes with ASIO installed on it or do I need to install ASIO4ALL myself?

Hewlett-Packard hasn't got a clue !!!!!

I'm a techie moron.

Paul O - Houston
    Windows XP-pro SP2, Pentium 4
    3.4 GHz, 2GB RAM
    GPO & Finale 2005b.r1

Music is moral law. It gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, a charm to sadness and a gaiety and life to everything. It is the essence of order and leads to all that is good, true and beautiful. -- Plato

Re: Soundcard question (SoundMax)

I'm a tech moron, too, but I believe that SoundMax is an internal device that comes with the OS. (I think I now have it disabled but can't honestly remember.)

It will not be ASIO ready, as ASIO is a proprietary format from Steinberg, and not Microsoft, and you might want to try the ASIO4All thing, but if you're posting in a forum like this, what you most probably need is a real audio card.

I won't post you a link, because I don't know what you're doing, or what you need, but you might want to look at real audio cards from folks like Echo, M-Audio, etc., to see what fills the bill.

SoundMax is the soundcard that came on your laptop (and is built into many laptops and motherboards). i have it on all my PC's also. Its not a bad little soundcard. It comes with WDM drivers on XP...which is very low latency and you're good to go on Sonar with that. If you are using an app that doesn't know WDM and rather prefers ASIO drivers, there are not any native SoundMax ASIO drivers at this point in time and probably never will be.