• Register
  • Help

Topic: Help a finger calloussed guitarist.

Help a finger calloussed guitarist.

Hello everyone, can't believe some of the talent in here, outstanding! I've been lurking, and reading for a while now.

I'm new to sampling, midi, and using my 'puter for music. But, I'm not new to plugging my Music Man into an AC30 and entertaining a crowd of happy drunks, in those beautiful drinking dens where it don't matter what foot you kick with, team you support, ahh, you know the place I mean.

Anyhoo, onward. I recently made the switch from being a hard core Windows user to the aesthetically pleasing & sounding world of Mac, got me a G5.

With it came Garageband, bloody great piece of software, lets me workout nice little riffs and stuff, lots of fun.

I stumbled across EWQL Symphonic Orchestra Silver & was blown away from the sound. I still can't believe it.

Well, not being able to tell the difference from a VSL, GPO, DAW, a Kontakt from a Kompakt, a Giga from a Roland, and so on. I've been thinking of buying Logic 7 but need a little advice as to if I am even looking in the right direction.

If I get Logic 7 can I use, for example, Ilio's World Winds & EWQL Symphonic Orchestra Silver? (blimey all the previous for that!) Or, do I need to be buying other stuff on top of that?

Any links or advice thrown my way, into this new world of sound would be greatly appreciated.

Happy pickin', mixn', composin',

Re: Help a finger calloussed guitarist.

hey prot,

I'm sure you're going to get many different opinions posted here, but here's mine (since you asked)...

If you're on a mac (which you are), especially a G5, I think Logic 7 is the way to go. There is so much under the hood in that program, you could very well be working for a very long time before going outside the program.