• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Can I do this ?

Share/Bookmark

Can I do this ?

Hi,
    I am new to the PC world as I have been using a Mac since the day's of a Mac Plus...I am also getting started with Virtual instruments and sampler's as I have used hardware synths and samplers for years...It's a new day !!!..
    I have a few questions for your kind folks....I have a new PC that a forum member built for me ( and did a GREAT job !!) and I originally had it built for a GigaStudio stand alone setup ...Now I'm questioning a few things....Please help me out if you can ....Please also remember, I'm pretty new to all this...I still don't have my sound card picked out for sure yet, as I'm not sure which way to go with that yet ...I'm at least down to RME or Echo with my choices

1) Can I run a sequencer program with Kontakt running in the same computer?

2) Do native format Kontakt files sound better when running Kontakt,or do Giga files running in Kontakt sound better ?

3) Can I run a sequencer program , virtual instruments, AND Kontakt all at the same time in the same computer ?

I've seen that GigaStudio really want's it's own computer to run successfully , and it has me thinking that if I can run more programs to keep things all in one computer, perhap's going with Kontakt is the way to go ... I have heard more Giga samples than I have Kompakt samples, and from what I can hear, the Giga samples really have a better quality to them ....Again, I have not heard THAT MUCH from either program to make an educated guess .... I'm spending a lot of time listenning to samples to better make a decision ...I'm also questioning you folks, as probably most of you have been down this road before ....Thanks so much for your help .....Sincerely, Jim

Re: Can I do this ?

1. Kontakt is best run as a VSTi or virtual instrument so it designed to run effeciently alongside your sequencer on the same PC.