• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Step-by-step mastering order

Share/Bookmark

Question Step-by-step mastering order

Hi,

Sorry for putting that in this forum.

After digging two years in mixing and mastering concepts my knowledge is getting a little better. Now when people says it takes many years to master audio I truly believe it. Knowing something and understanding something are two different beasts.

The web has plenty of tips "on how to" many things on this matter but finding exemples on how to proceed in the right order is more problematic. So, commonly, are the following steps a good template to proceed from ?

1) Denoising, Deessing
    2) Eq
    3) Compression
    4) Reverb
    5) Harmonic exciter
    6) Stereo Imaging
    7) Dithering

Thanks,

SergeD

Re: Step-by-step mastering order

Im by no means a mastering expert, but I dont think Id put the Harmonic exciter and Stereo Imaging after the reverb. Id also put Deessing after EQ.

Just my 2 cents though.
    ---------------------------
    - SCA - Sound Studios -
    www.sca-soundstudios.com
    ---------------------------

Quote Originally Posted by Serge
    1) Denoising, Deessing
    2) Eq
    3) Compression
    4) Reverb
    5) Harmonic exciter
    6) Stereo Imaging
    7) Dithering

Thanks,

SergeD