• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Purrrfect Drums/GS3 Replacement Suggestions???

Share/Bookmark

Purrrfect Drums/GS3 Replacement Suggestions???

Sorry if this topic is somewhat stale, but I've been using Purrrfect Drums on GS for a bunch of years now and have recently begun to wonder if I shouldn't be considering an alternate library.

I'm a drummer and I use a TrapKat along with a Yamaha DTXpress3 Brain (which is used only as a cymbal controller). There's nothing paticularly wrong with Purrrfect (although some might take issue with the snares) - it's just that there are libraries now being offered that seem more powerful. For example, DFH Superior has some very compelling features, unfortunately it does not seem to be designed for live performances.

I'm not married to GS3 for the playback engine, although I do very much appreciate that a streaming architecture allows for the highest quality samples in a live environment. At the same time, stability for live performances is a really big issue; there's nothing worse than a unanticipated (and unwarranted) BSOD during a live show- and GS3 is not without it's occassional crashes).

So, sample quality is big on the list, as is drum selection, enhanced tools sets (DFH Superior), stability and some level of fx processing. I just thought I'd throw this topic out there to get some up-to-date opinions.

Thanks for your feedback

Re: Purrrfect Drums/GS3 Replacement Suggestions???

Quote Originally Posted by blafarm
    For example, DFH Superior has some very compelling features, unfortunately it does not seem to be designed for live performances.
    Oh yeah?? Dude, check THIS out:

http://www.toontrack.com/demos/chicken_low.mov

You know, I've watched that demo several times and been very impressed - but the reviews I've read, using the links on their site, seem to suggest that this software needs to shake and bake the track:

"...you'll need to render the audio before you can start processing it".