• Register
  • Help

Topic: "Spinning out" thematic ideas

"Spinning out" thematic ideas

I would intersted in getting people's feedback in terms of how one theme or idea get's fleshed out into a longer peice that eventually builds to its climax. As a young composer I have a tendancy to put too many ideas into one song and while there is some instant gratification to that it doens't "say" anything as a whole. How do you build on one idea and make it varied and interesting to the listener? How do you take 30 second idea and say something interesting with it over 4 or 5 minutes. This would be for orchestral music.

I have some ideas on this but maybe some fresh perspective would help.

Re: "Spinning out" thematic ideas

Think structure and form
    Think development

What kind of form will the piece have? You will generally need:

(Introduction)... Like Beethoven's Seventh... mostly non-thematic material, establishing the harmonic foundation... preparing for the

Exposition - you expose your principle thematic material... whether it's a melodic idea, a tone color, etc. In Beethoven's Fifth, his primary thematic material is simple, and he immediately begins thematic fragmentation/development with it while still in the opening of the exposition... he wastes no time, and this simple theme grows into a monster with great melodic, harmonic, and rhythmic complexity.

Perhaps you might want to introduce another one of your musical ideas at some point... this might be a secondary thematic idea... this can be in a different key, color, etc. depending on your style of composition. Look at a score of an opening mvt. of a Mozart concerto for obvious examples of this.