• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Cubase and GPO a modus operandi - part one

Cubase and GPO a modus operandi - part one

Cubase and GPO a modus operandi…

Ok so confession first. I am new to GPO, though I have been using Cubase ten years. - thus I am creating this tutorial so that I can also learn. Feedback from others, especially superhero’s is appreciated.

Hopefully much of what we learn here about Cubase can be also used in other sequencers.

Presently, this work is divided into two tutorials:

First Tutorial: How to set up a basic template in Cubase, so that everything is just sweet, economical with CPU, and ready to run. I have been asked to do this by some forum members.

Second Tutorial: Controlling levels the ‘correct’ way – how to get to grips with your levels from a ‘musical’ point of view and a ‘sound engineering’ point of view. This is a work in progress, and I invite debate as to the ‘best’ way.

Tutorial 1: Building a basic template
    Although there are some Cubasis templates on install disk 4, and you could import these, I feel it is important to build your own templates because this teaches you learn how to customise and control them for what you do.
    The first step to creating numerous templates is to set up a ‘GarritanBasic’ template and then use this template to create other project-specific templates.
    What we are going to do is create a template with an instance of GPO with all eight slots loaded and ready to run. We are going to set up the mixer and reverb in SX so that everything runs symbiotically.

Ok so here goes…

1. Open Cubase and open the most suitable existing template as a starting point – load the ‘empty’ template if you are not sure. If you are prompted for a save-directory, you might like to set up a directory called ‘Sketches’ where the template will default save to.
    2. Go to File/Save as template, and save this template as ‘GarritanBasic’ template.
    3. Remove all tracks from the project window.