• Register
  • Help

Topic: Finale HP Custom -- what do you use?

Share/Bookmark

Finale HP Custom -- what do you use?

While an old hand at Finale (from the beginning) I am new to the HP facet of the program.

I've started playing around with the custom box (somewhere somebody mentioned only using only 'automatic expression' and I've tried that) -- not bad -- it made things a little warmer. But I lost my arpeggiated symbol's playback function. I tried including the various obvious check boxes --i.e. B. ornaments and trills -- in fact all the others -- except hairpins and dynamics -- they screw up things too much IMO. But that playback function seems to be gone.

The slurs seem not to work for me -- at least with the strings.

Another thing - I am saving these functions with a play file and then when I load the file I turn off the HP.

I guess what I'm asking is do you save HP with the play file or add it on to a play file with no HP?

Anything else anybody wants to talk about WR to HP. Please do.

By the by the spell checker here is atrocious -- it has problems with 'arpeggiated'!?

Thanx
    Jerry

Re: Finale HP Custom -- what do you use?

Jerry,

Currently HP does not interpret slurs by using sustain pedal midi data, which is how the strings, reeds and brass play legato in GPO. I make a second copy of my score for playback purposes. I create text expressions with sustain pedal off/on data and by using a meta-tools I add those commands wherever slurs occur.

I pretty sure the human playback preferences are not file specific and are not saved with each file.

JT

Gerald,

I would suggest posing this question on the Finale Forum - you should get an answer from Robert Piechard who created "Human Playback" and knows more than most.

Hi Jerry,

While an old hand at Finale (from the beginning) I am new to the HP facet of the program.
    Which version of Finale are you using? 2004?, 2005?, 2005a?

But I lost my arpeggiated symbol's playback function.