• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Can't hear pedal legato using Cubase/GPO? (Mac)

Share/Bookmark

Can't hear pedal legato using Cubase/GPO? (Mac)

I know this type of question has been asked a lot, but I'm not sure if I am succeeding with getting the most out of GPOs legato phrasing. I am very new to Cubase and GPO though I have been using Finale for a long time. I have been experimenting with the dry lush string sounds and my procedure is as follows.

I create my bare-bones score in Finale (pitch and duration only, different staves/channels for different articulations) and import the MIDI data into Cubase SE to work on with GPO. I have finally learned that the first step to nice legato - if you don't "play it in" - is overlapping notes, but having done that, and getting a pretty satisfactory legato, when I overdub the pedal controller I don't really notice any difference. I have the pedal set to "no sustain/sustenuto, but midi controller" in Kontakt and I have tried two methods:

1) Overdubbing the pedal data on the same track as the note data.
    2) Creating a second MIDI track set to the same channel/Kontakt slot and recording the pedal data there.

I assume the results should be the same. When I try the first method in Cubase's Project Window I hear only the first note then the part cuts out. I have to record the pedal data in the Key Editor (which doesn't scroll, grr) but when, after overdubbing my pedal work, I select "foot" in the key editor window I don't see any data, and I can't say I hear any difference but when I look at the track in the project window there are vertical lines representing my pedal work.

When I try the second method I can record in the project window and I see the lines in the second track but I'm not at all sure I hear any difference in either case.