• Register
  • Help

Topic: New to Soft Samp : considering Giga

New to Soft Samp : considering Giga

Hello all,
    This definitely seems to be THE place to ask questions. I'm new to all this. I'm a guitarist and audio engineer who plays some keyboards. I went and bought a Keyboard and built a new PC to do some MIDI composition. After 2 days I realized how out of date the keyboards sounds were and that for the same $$ I could buy a weighted controller and some software and get a much better sounding rig. So I'm going to return the keyboard (Yamaha S08) and buy the M-Audio controller and software. I've been researching a lot on the net. I want to be able to work on one PC. I also have audio apps that I use on it but that's about it.

What I have:

P4 2.4 GHz 800 MHz bus - Intel MOBO - 512 MB 333 RAM - 120 MB 7200 ATA 100 8MB cache

Windows XP Pro
    Cakewalk Pro Audio 9
    Samplitude Master
    Cool Edit Pro 2.1
    Aardvark Diect Pro 24/96

I've looked at:

Giga 3

From what i gather Gigastudio I considered the most powerful. However it also seems to require the most resources. The recommended system req's are quite higher for Giga than the others on theis list. How much would I be able to accomplish given my system? I'm not planning on huge orchestral arrangements. Which version would you recommend. What is the greatestr value for my money of the programs listed?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Re: New to Soft Samp : considering Giga

Here's my thoughts...most everything subjective and IMO...