• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: keyboard player opinions please

Share/Bookmark

keyboard player opinions please

hello,
    i'm a guitarist but am trying to branch out musically so i'm trying to decide between a couple of keyboards for christmas to go with GPO. i've narrowed them down to a couple choices but would really appreciate some advice. this one looked good: MAudio Keystation 88 Pro 88-Key Controller & it's non-pro version (sells for half that price). i can't seem to find it right now but there is a casio that looked like this one: casio 88 key digital piano, but had a control wheel.

i only intend to play through my computer so that's why i checked out the m-audio, but it didn't feel like a piano so then i checked out that casio. anyone play the m-audio? does it bother you if they keys don't feel like a piano? lastly, would a midi controller like the m-audio offer any advantages over a digital piano like the casio?

thanks for any advice you can provide,
    - jim

Thumbs up Re: keyboard player opinions please

I will probably get laughed off this board, but I use an M-Audio keyboard and I like it. First off - I play a keyboard, but I'm definately not a piano player. If I'm playing a GPO instrument like a quick string part, I like keys that are fast and light. I guess it's just what you get used to, but playing hammer action keys in GPO really feels, to me, heavy and slow, and I have trouble getting velocity right.

So - if you are primarily a guitarist, and using a keyboard mostly for virtual instruments, I don't think that synth keys will hold you back.

Re: keyboard player opinions please

Quote Originally Posted by Johneecatt