• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: OT: Warning - Gigabyte Motherboards

Boise, Idaho, U.S.A.

OT: Warning - Gigabyte Motherboards

Just thought I would give you all a heads up. These motherboards are horrible. With only 1.5GB of RAM and 2 HDDs this thing has been giving me hell. I can't restart my system without turning it off (otherwise my primary HDD won't be found), it is really unstable with alot of my hardware, for some reason none of the LED pins do what they are supposed to and don't even think about using Win98 with more than 512MBs RAM (otherwise it crashes [even though Win98 has a 2GB limit with the proper editing via system.ini]) for all you Giga 2.5 users.

I think the worst thing is the Tech support though. I have been working on / building my own computers for the last 12 years and those people where treating me like I was an idiot. It's also always a long distance call for Tech support and the waiting time is enough to drive you crazy. In any case, they don't even know how to get it working.

In a discussion with another (nice) computer tech, he told me that the Sis chipsets are crap, and that was probably my problem.

Anyhow, these are probably fine for a normal user but when it comes to audio / composing expect alot of problems. If you are building a new system, stay away from these, and if you want to be sure, stay away from Sis chipsets and go with Via or something.

James W.G. Smith

Re: OT: Warning - Gigabyte Motherboards

I've had very good luck building systems with Gigabyte mobos, but can't comment on their tech support. This may be more of a chipset issue as I have also heard of compatibility problems with Sis and Via chipsets. I would also never want to set up a system with current hardware on Win 98.

Hope you get the problems sorted out, though.