• Register
  • Help

Topic: Where can I start

Where can I start

First off, this may seem pretty pathetic but I feel it's the best place to learn things from. I really like making music but so far all I've done is make lame combinations of voices on keyboards (played by hand). Obviously only with electronic music, because orchestral-keyboard-music = echh...but finally I bought Cubase, and now finally EWQLSO Silver edition. Anyways.....the samples sound odd now but that's only because I'm a beginner and don't know how to work anything. Anyways, can anyone tell me a good place to start to learn this kind of stuff? Or anyone willing to help me out? I've got tons of ideas I've stored over the past years for music bursting in my head but I have no idea how I can produce them. I can make simple tunes meaning set a midi to a EWQLSO sample, but of only one line things with none of the "effects" or anything, so it just sounds dull and unrealistic, not to mention very bad. So does anyone have advice on where to start?

Re: Where can I start

I don't own Silver, but in general a good place to start is to come up with a simple melody or supporting harmony, choose your instrument, and then try to play that musical line as naturally as possible to a click track. There are a few keys to doing this well:

* Practice, practice practice. Getting the timing accurate is really tough. Getting the dynamics even is easier, but still takes practice. There are two workarounds: you can slow down the click track when recording and speed it up for playback, or you can tweak notes in the sequencer by hand. But good technique is the very best route.