• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Guglielmo...about midi connections...

Guglielmo...about midi connections...

Can you help me with the Midi-Utilities-for-Windows/networked midi setup?

I've got the sequencer (and Midi Yoke and Marple Midi) on one machine. G3 on the other. A LAN between the two. Turn on the Utilities' "Daemon" on the G3 machine. I get a blank command window. I turn on the "Netmidic" on the sequencer machine, I get the command window which then disappears a second later.

What's my mistake?

Re: Guglielmo...about midi connections...

I'm no mac expert -- (nor a windows expert, for that matter) -- but if the netmidic client connects correctly to the netmidid server, then windows task manager should show it running. If it fails for some reason (usually failure to connect, because of bad computer name lookup, or bad ip address, or firewalled port number) then it will not keep running.

A simple dos batch file can start each end. This is not exactly how I do it, because I use unix/linux command windows, but it should work:

a batch file called 'runclient.bat' contains one line (for one midi port):

netmidic.exe --in 0 --hostname mygigastudio_computer_name --port 5555

If your windows PATH environment does not include the folder/directory where netmidic.exe lives, then you could put a full path name in the line above, "C:\progra~1\midi-utilities-for-windows\netmidic.exe".

Start the demon (server) first: netmidid.exe --out 0 --port 5555

The IN (client side) and OUT (server side) midi ports have to be correct for your system: the OUT will be the numeric reference to one of the gigastudio ports, while the IN will be the numeric reference to the Maple Midi port IN on the client (sequencer) computer. Get a numeric list of your midi ports using lsmidiins.exe and lsmidiouts.exe, also part of the utilies.

Ask again if any of this is not clear!

Sorry, I'm not really clear on this. Is this what you're saying: