• Register
  • Help

Topic: Digital Performer 4.5 Mistery

Share/Bookmark

Digital Performer 4.5 Mystery

I am new to Digital Performer (I mainly use my GPO in Sibelius) and I have found something I can't explain:

I have downloaded the Beethoven's 5th Symphony DP project file by Brian Monroney from the GPO DP resource page, which sounds really good (great work Brian!). While playing the Symphony, the CPU meter (under DP's Audio Performance) is always under 50% (on my single G5 1.8GHz).

Just to practice with DP4.5, I saved Brian's project as a MIDI file. Then I opened a blank file in DP and imported the MIDI, and manually assigned the GPO instruments to each track (exactly the same instruments and the 4 GPO instances Brian originally used). Finally I played the file (sounded good also), but to my surprise now the CPU meter is much higher! (in some points it even reaches 100% and the sound interrupts briefly).

In both cases the Hardware options (Buffer size, Work priority, etc.) are the same, but it seems that I am missing something in my configuration, because the difference in CPU performance between both files are more than noticeable. Can anybody explain this mystery?

Re: Digital Performer 4.5 Mystery

Quote Originally Posted by quartet
    Just to practice with DP4.5, I saved Brian's project as a MIDI file. Then I opened a blank file in DP and imported the MIDI, and manually assigned the GPO instruments to each track (exactly the same instruments and the 4 GPO instances Brian originally used). Finally I played the file (sounded good also), but to my surprise now the CPU meter is much higher! (in some points it even reaches 100% and the sound interrupts briefly).