• Register
  • Help

Topic: Are sample libraries equipment or expenses for tax purposes?

Share/Bookmark

Are sample libraries equipment or expenses for tax purposes?

Do you deduct them all in one year? or depreciate them over time?

Also, If I'm a software developer (contractor) by day, and slowly trying to build a studio and transition to scoring/composing over time, can I deduct my purchases now? Or once I actually make money off of it?

Thanks!

-Eric

Banned

Re: Are sample libraries equipment or expenses for tax purposes?

Quote Originally Posted by EricRichmond

Also, If I'm a software developer (contractor) by day, and slowly trying to build a studio and transition to scoring/composing over time, can I deduct my purchases now? Or once I actually make money off of it?

Thanks!

-Eric
    Talk to your accountant to be sure, but in my experience:

* You can write things off as soon as you start *trying* to make money, not once you *actually* make money.
    * Even for equipment purchases, you can write them all off in one year (I think it's called Section 179). There's a limit on how much you can do this, but it's relatively high. I've written off software, computers, guitar amplifiers, etc. that way.

Best,
    Stefan

Quote Originally Posted by EricRichmond

Thanks!

-Eric
    Eric,

Here's what I got from a software company that was trying to sell me something for my business - but as always, you need to consult your Accountant.

- Doug

The following items may be applicable to your business, but check with your tax advisor for the specifics of how it may apply to your particular company and tax situation.

TAX BENEFIT CHECK LIST FOR SOFTWARE PURCHASES

Expensing Allowance