• Register
  • Help

Topic: Violin Runs

Question Violin Runs

I've listened to so many demos in the last few months it's ridiculous. A lot of the violin demos I've listened to showcase the ability to do these realistic sounding (to my ears anyway) runs. How are these accomplished? I can't play that fast - Is the technique as simple as slowing the tempo down when playing your run at a moderate speed then speeding the tempo back up for playback purposes?

Can you go into your sequencer to manually adjust velocity and attack of each MIDI note so that you don't get that "machine gun" effect? Or is that accomplished with this "key switching" thing.

Forgive me for I am a newbie. I'd be up and running with my GS3 by now but the guy putting my PC together broke my heatsink/fan when he was trying to install it So I have a little more time to think up these questions.

Re: Violin Runs

Some of the runs are included in libraries -- major scale, harmonic minor scale sometimes. As long as you use the same scale at the same speed, they sound great. Otherwise ...

Say I wanted to create my own ...

You knew that was coming.

What I've done in the past is just play quickly between two notes in tempo and then edit the Midi data to be the notes and velocities that I actually want.

Similarly with Harp glissandos. I'll just play a gliss in C/Am and then transpose to the scale I want instead of trying to manually hit all the right black keys with speed and accuracy.

The "machine gun" effect usually refers to repeating the same note and shouldn't be a factor in a run.
    Westgate Studios
    Sound Libraries for Gigastudio and Kontakt