• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Best way to install GS 3 over GS 2...

Share/Bookmark

Question Best way to install GS 3 over GS 2...

Ive been sort of waiting for a GS3.1 update before i risk loosing the stable GS 2.54 system i have goin now. But, I almost feel brave (stupid) enough to risk loosing GS 2.5 over X-mas (since i dont have to work) if I can`t get it running smoothly.
    I`d love to know what you guys might think the safest way to Instal GS 3 is...(de-instal GS 2.5 ,run giga clean, instal GS 3..etc.). Is there something involving the my Gina24 drivers in there...
    I don`t what anymore instalation heartaches with GS , Its been a tempermental beast for me...
    Experts..Advise.. Thanks, Rich
    BTW I`m putting it on a P4 2.4 ,2gb with seagate drives

Re: Best way to install GS 3 over GS 2...

Since you specified help from experts, I have problems answering your question because I am not an expert. GS3 installation was easy for me, because I followed instructions. GS3 installation said to remove completely any earlier GS installation. So, save your performance files somewhere, and uninstall GS2.5xx according to Tascam clean uninstall instructions. If you have your CD key, just pop your installation disk in, and run it. I had problems only because I did not convert all my samples to GS3 format, I did not set my polyphony settings properly and did not set up my sequencer either. Once these were done, all worked perfectly. So, if you go step by step, you should not miss your music during Xmas. You did not include any info about your system, but hopefully you checked if your PC will be OK for GS3. Sorry, I can not help you with your soundcard. I did not have to do anything with mine between GS2.5 and GS3. When GSF2 drivers became available for mine, I did install it and changed from 16bits to 24.
    Good luck.
    Ted

thanks ted..Your making it sound easy enough to attempt it... Rich

Hi Rich,