• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: first composition ever-Please rate

Share/Bookmark

first composition ever-Please rate (dl fixed)

Hi everyone,

Well I'm just beginning to get into computer music, and also symphonic music (I mean, I've thought out basic themes by playing around on my keyboard's string voices, but you know what I mean.I'm still 15 (don't taunt me for my age , trying to learn all this stuff. I don't have any real training, I've learned most of what I know by reading things and playing around on my keyboard. Anyways, this is my first computer-sequenced composition I've tried to do, and it is also my first actual orchestral composition, too. With that in mind, I did take some time to learn some basics like how to write notes, how to use midi properly, how to use modulation basicly, and this is what I've come up with. I wrote this on the computer because I don't have a proper MIDI cable to connect to my keyboard yet. And it was a real labor as my computer sucks (I have no 1gb of ram or 2 ghz processor - in fact I had to upgrade my computer just to run GPO without crashing) but I still sat through it to finish this.

-oops
    use this
    -doh, doesnt work either

Final: Get it from acid planet page
    http://www.acidplanet.com/artist.asp?PID=462289&T=2135

listen to the full thing- It's pretty basic, since it's my first outing I didn't attempt anything spectacular, just progressed through it in natural order, building, building, etc. It repeats the main part two times at the beginning then I add some other stuff. Around the middle there's a little break where the main part fades away because I didn't want to just keep it the same over and over.

So, after listening to the first completed music of mine, can you tell me whether:

1) I'm terrible and disgrace music and should just stop or

2) I'm fair and with a lot of help and practise could become better or

3) I'm good for a start ?

Advice greatly appreciated!