• Register
  • Help

Topic: New Action Piece

Share/Bookmark

Lightbulb New Action Piece

Hi!
    This is my first try to mix orchestral sounds with synth sounds(I have only crappy synth...) and also my first bigger aproach to mix samples from more libraries (Gold, Opus, Sam)

Please listen and tell me what you think.
    Thanks.

http://www.galerieskacelik.cz/obrazky/MIX_Mp3.mp3

Re: New Action Piece

This really sounds good. It's clear and focused but still full and the instruments blend nicely together. There are only couple of minor things that would make it perfect atleast in my humble opinion. The synth sound is a bit dull as it's so mono. Some stereo effect like a phaser would spice it up nicely. The Kjaerhus Audio Golden Modulator would do the trick. I would like the strings slightly more distant. My suggestion is to attenuate the lower end with a shelving eq. I somehow don't like the rhythm in the ending hits. The hits are great but I don't like the rhythm.

Thumbs up. My sample setup is getting ready and I hope I can get it sounding as good as you have in this piece! Could you describe your setup in more detail? What do you think of the Gold hall? I have the Opus1 and Silver and a hard time deciding whether the Gold hall is a good thing for me.

Hello Handz,

I definitely see what you were going for there, kind a modern action/scifi cue. The orchestral elements sounded great, but the sequenced synth didn't seem to fit in the mix very well. Probably because of the synth patch and the repetitiveness. Electronic and orchestra can be mixed, a good example is any of the Matrix scores. There is alot of that there. The difference is an electronic cue was written as the base, and then orchestral elements were added. Looking forward to hearing more!

Liam

Janila: Thanks! I know about the synth...try to get something better...