• Register
  • Help

Topic: Melody or harmony or both?

Lightbulb Melody or harmony or both?

Hi everybody! First of all I'd like to introduce myself, since haven't really posted anything here yet, although I have been following the discussions at NS (specially Garritan forums) for over a year now. I'm a computer science student from Finland with a 20+ year backround in music, mostly in playing stuff. I'm quite a beginner when it comes to composing classical music, but eager to learn =)

Haven't been able to buy GPO yet, kinda have promised myself to get it as a graduation gift, but it seems to take forever. And as a student there never seems to be enough money when you want something...Anyway, so much for that, there was also a point for this thread.

So about the relation between melody and harmony when composing "classical" music. Have you people noticed whether you tend to take a more harmonical or melodical approach, when starting to compose a new piece?

Usually when I sit down to write music, I can usually come up with a nice chord progression OR a nice melody. I don't know if it's just lack of excercise but I just can't seem to be able to deal with both at the same time. Although I do find it easier to start out with a harmony (e.g. chord progression) and to compose a melody accordingly. But then often just sticking a melody line over the chords feels artificial.

Then vice versa it's a lot harder for me i.e. starting out with a melody line. One possibility is that I start out with too complex melody parts which makes harmonization difficult. But most of the time I come up with a decent melody, I can't get the chord progression to sound fluent or logical.