• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Legato help

Share/Bookmark

Legato help

First off, I'd like to thank Gary Garritan and his crew for creating such an incredible orchestral soundbank. Keep up the great work guys.

I'm new to GPO, and I've got to admit that all the tweaking ability is great, but I stil don't know what half of it does yet, lol. I have a problem getting GPO to play legato mode(I use Sonar 4). Instead of playing smooth legato, for some reason it plays sustain(which sounds horrible when 5 notes are being held at one time, lol). Am I missing something? I thought that GPO automatically changed the sustain function to legato. If any of you guys can help, I'd appreciate it.

*sigh* I guess I should actually read the manual after all, lol.

Re: Legato help

In Options, change the sustain legato mode to 'no sustain/sustenuto operation, but midi controller'. Make sure you close and re-open GPO for the change to take effect.

I am also confused about this legato thing, there are four choicesin Kontakt Options:

1] 'Normal' sustain/sustenuto operation (but what is normal?)
    2] No sustain/sustenuto operation but midi controller
    3] No sustain/sustenuto operation but midi switch
    4] 'Normal' sustain/sustenuto operation plus midi switch

The manual says that Kontakt 'defaults automatically to legato mode' (pg 9) but which one? The explanation on page 39 is confusing me. Could we have an explanation for midiots?

Quote Originally Posted by ZeroZero

1] 'Normal' sustain/sustenuto operation (but what is normal?)
    2] No sustain/sustenuto operation but midi controller
    3] No sustain/sustenuto operation but midi switch
    4] 'Normal' sustain/sustenuto operation plus midi switch
    Basically,

Use #2 for most GPO situations. Strings, reeds, brass
    Use #1 for piano, harp

Jeff

Thanks for that Jeff, when I said 'midiot' | guess I invited a simple explanation