• Register
  • Help

Topic: Complete newb needs help here :/

Complete newb needs help here :/

This is probably a dumb question, bear with me I'm a total newb at this stuff.

I just ditched my soundblaster live for a better card - audiophile 192 PCI, in hopes that I could get into Gigastudio and more advanced composition / home recording software.

I need to know how to get output from my audiophile to my PC speakers? Or if I could just use headphones that would be fine. I can't seem to get any output from the audiophile onto my PC speakers or headphones.

Here's a pic of what outputs I have available on my card: http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_u...e192-main.html

(as you can see the normal stereo jack output that us soundblaster users are used to don't exist anymore)

Do I need special plugs or connectors? I am using an adapter to go from the audiophile's outputs to my PC speaker inputs. I tried a couple of different adapters/plugs but still can't get any audible output. The PC speakers I assume are amplified... the headphones are not, of course.

In the m-audio control panel I can't seem to enable analog output, most of the things are greyed out, it looks like SPDIF is enabled, but I don't have that type of cable nor any speakers that can take that kind of input.

Thanks in advance for any help!!!

Re: Complete newb needs help here :/

I trust your settings in GIGA are set correctly for the card you have installed. Make sure of that first. It sounds like maybe the settings are not correct since you say they are greyed out. I only got Giga a week ago but I will try to help you as much as I can.

I managed to get audio to work, I had to use the SPDIF output on the audiophile and routed that into a SB extigy, and plugged my headphones into there.

Gigastudio still will not work.... it is outputting to the 'waveout' portion of the monitor, not the 'spdif' channel. Is there a way to make Gigastudio output to a different device?