• Register
  • Help

Topic: Optimizing System for GPO

Post Optimizing System for GPO

Hi all,

I am new to using GPO.

I am using GPO with the provided VST host. Because of how I plan to playback my sequences, I cannot use the internal DXi host of my sequencer (Sonar). Except for a very high load time (close to a minute sometimes), the utility seems to function great. I am using the ASIO driver of my MIA-MIDI (echo audio) card at 512 samples latency. My system is a 2.4 GHz P4 w/Hyperthreading, 2GB RAM, and a dedicated sample drive (80GB).

I prepared a 17 track sequence of a moderately orchestrated piece, using 7 out of the 8 available instances of GPO and 17 loaded instruments. The host's internal reverb was bypassed.

During sequencing and playback, I got very bad clicking and lurching as I added more instruments. The CPU monitor in the bottom toolbar of the GPO VST host was maxing out at close to 100% and even higher at times.

Now, I don't have anything to judge this against (as I'm new), but it seems strange that I am maxing out at 17 loaded instruments given my pretty-powerful system. I've read that some are able to get all 64 channels at once with 1GB of RAM.

A user on the NI forums reported that hyperthreading was the cause of a similar lurching problem. My system is acting as if it doesn't have enough processor to handle what I'm doing. It is, however, not doing that much... Does anyone have experience with HT on GPO systems? I have no problem turning HT off. I am really looking foward to figuring out what this bug is so I can get back to the music.

Thanks for help in advance!

Re: Optimizing System for GPO