• Register
  • Help

Topic: midi guitar

midi guitar

hey i've noticed most people around here use midi keyboards, but how about midi guitars??

anyone uses them?? what kind of??

are they reliable'??

i am considering the possibility of introducing a midi guitar to my current setup, so any comments are appreciated

Re: midi guitar

I used one in the past (a Yamaha setup) but I didn't find it very useful as it wasn't precise and had problems of latency. As I am a guitarist more than a keyboard player I thought a midi guitar would have allowed me to create more "humanized" and realistic tracks, expecially with string sounds but for my experience I can say that a guitar synth isn't a precise instrument and even if you are a guitar hero you'll obtain better results using a keyboard.

New York City

Quote Originally Posted by Kaox
    I used one in the past (a Yamaha setup)

How long ago did you use one. I have heard that the new Roland box GI-20? tracks much better with latency undetectable on the mid-high notes; slightly so on the lower notes.. I was thinking of checking out midi guitar again. Hmmm.

[QUOTE=aplanchard]How long ago did you use one. [QUOTE]

I used a Yamaha G50, the forerunner of the GI-20 I guess...maybe the new one is better, but from my experience I'll never buy again a guitar synth and I don't feel to suggest it to nobody.
    I payed it a lot and I was very disappointed by the results or maybe my expectations was too high! I thought I could use my skills on guitar, much more than on keyboard, to reproduce realistic string passages but I think it's impossible to do it with a midi guitar (maybe it's now possible with the GI-20, bt I won't be the one to test it

I recently ran across this thread. Although it has been awhile since the last post I felt that in case you are still interested in midi-guitar I should add my own experiences.