• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: The Mirror

Share/Bookmark

The Mirror

Alright, this is the first piece I've created with GPO. It's a fairly short sequence which I'm scoring for an independant film. Any feedback or suggestions would be appreciated, since I'm new to all of this.

The Mirror

Re: The Mirror

Excellent! It sounds like you have GPO figured out
    Great!

DPDAN

Smile Re: The Mirror

A lot of good ideas come bubbling down the pike on this one! Very ambitious in 1:45, indeed!

But, for me, the "tutti"s are just not orchestrally convincing. Not enough "oomph!" and the dramatic effect seems undercut by not quite "doing it". Also, not sure how you're are mixing, but there's an all-over "canned-ness" that seems to invade after the first 30 seconds and never really goes away. (My analogy would be that the intensity of the piece feels constrained and pinched like an overly plump matron in a way-too-tight corset. The final moments from around 1:35 are relieved of that feeling, so I think you have some challenges in the mix to deal with.

I hope this helps ... KevinKauai

I might add a few things after hearing it again. You need to get the free update and install it, it takes care of the clicking in the right channel on some instruments like flute. Also, at 2:19, the bassoon, oboe or maybe french horn has created a huge harmonic (overtone) that is only evident in this section where another instrument is playing the same note, (A) but in another octave. This sometimes can create a tone that sounds exactly like PA system feedback. Take a listen, I just wanted to point out these few things to you, but otherwise an excellent first piece!

DPDAN

Great first piece!

Just one thought about the mix: