• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Help requested for a brand new GPO user

Share/Bookmark

Question Help requested for a brand new GPO user

Folks, tonight I received GPO in a Fedex package, and naturally couldn't wait to install it. After having done so, I read that I needed to move a modulation control on my MIDI keyboard, in order to hear any sounds. My MIDI keyboard is a Yamaha PSR-510, and as far as I know, doesn't have a modulation control.
    I am just starting out learning about MIDI, and do not know how to patch control events to keys, wheels, etc., I just wanted to hear some sounds from GPO tonight. I have Finale 2005, Cakewalk Pro Audio 9, Cubasis vst 4.0, and a Proteus X package with the E-MU 0404 sound card in this machine, and I would like to use GPO with all of these components, if at all possible.
    Can someone point me to a good MIDI tutorial, or some simple way to start listening to sounds? I really don't understand how everything works together, but I have recorded MIDI sequences with Cakewalk and I have used Finale to write a couple of pieces.
    Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks so much, Richard Dillon

Re: Help requested for a brand new GPO user

Hi Richard, you are excited I can tell
    I too am very new to midi, and I can tell you that you can at least use the mouse and move the mod wheel on the player's keyboard on the screen. Eventually you will definately need to get a keyboard that has a mod wheel, or at least a slide fader that you can use to play in (program) the mod wheel data into the midi track/s of your sequencer. The mod wheel carries with it not just volume changes, but note timber as well with the use of sample crossfades, and therefore is necessary to accomplish natural, real sounding phrases. Of course you could use the draw feature, and draw the mod wheel data into the sequencer midi tracks. I hope this gets you going for at least tonight.
    Don't forget to get some sleep...

DPDAN

Richard,