• Register
  • Help

Topic: Score Editor in Cubase

Score Editor in Cubase

This is my first post. I am a complete novice and have just set myself up with a combination of GPO and Cubase SE. My first task will be to create projects from a whole load of MIDI files which I created previously with my Yamaha keyboard. However, I have found that when I import a MIDI file into Cubase, when I look at the Score Editor it is complete gobbledegook - just lots of weird symbols. Does anyone know what this is and can it be corrected?

Also, I am not finding it easy to playback GPO sounds within Cubase. In fact, I haven't succeeded at all yet. I have seen instructions elsewhere which say that you should select GPO from the Virtual Instruments part of the menu. However, I don't understand how to do this. When I look at this, all I see are the ones which come built into Cubase. I didn't find the Cubase manual very helpful here either. I looked in vain for a section on adding VSTs.

Re: Score Editor in Cubase

I do remember a bug like this with score, but unfortunately I cant remember hte solution. It has something to do with fonts.

best search this question in steinberg's SX forum (which has just been revamped.
    Core i7 920, Win 7 RC 64, Cubase 5 64, Omnisphere, Trilogy, RMX, EWQLSO Plat EW Choirs, GPO, Stradivari, Gofrilla, Absynth 4, Halion 3, Kontakt3, BFD2, VSL Strings, JBridge running all 32 bit apps well.

This is a known bug in Cubase. I do not renember exactly the fix, but you have to do something with your Font folder. The solution is available at http://www.cubase.net. This is where I got it from when I had the same problem.