• Register
  • Help

Topic: More RMX memory issues

Melbourne, Australia

Unhappy More RMX memory issues

As this is my first post I thought I'd introduce myself. My name is Brett and I'm a working composer from Melbourne Australia. It's a privilege to be a new member of this rather excellent forum

I am having difficulty with Stylus RMX comsuming too much memory. This is a different problem to an earlier thread and not related to the acculumated loss of memory while browsing through sounds. (http://www.northernsounds.com/forum/...ad.php?t=29309)

My problem, is the amount of physical RAM RMX consumes when *no* sounds are loaded. In my case, the first (empty) instance of RMX uses 18% (180Mb) of my total of 1GIG of PC 2700 DDR RAM. The 2nd instance uses 10% more, and each instance of RMX uses up 10% more of my RAM thereafter. And this is without loading any sounds. This means I can only load 7 empty instances of RMX before I consume all my available RAM, without loading any samples!

Practically, in any given composition, I am therefore limited to one or two instances of RMX (used multi-timbrally) given I am using other virtual instruments at the same time.

Can anyone offer any suggestions?

I have a P4 2.4GHz PC with 1Gig RAM using Logic 5.5, and have no probs with any other plugins / virtual instruments from Spectrasonics, NI etc

I am aware that Spectrasonics is not officially supporting Logic 5.5 PC users, (something i was unaware of when I purchased the upgrade for the original Stylus) but I am hoping someone (Spectrum or Glenn0?) may be able to point me in the right direction.

Re: More RMX memory issues

Seven instances of RMX ??!! Brett, remember RMX is eight-part multitimbral. For that reason it's unusual to need multiple instances. With seven instances, that's actually like loading 56 instances of a very powerful plugin!

- Glenn

Hey Brett,
    No worries.

RMX is pretty much designed to need only one instance.