• Register
  • Help

Topic: Help with setting up a gigastudio machine

Help with setting up a gigastudio machine

I have to admit that I know very little about gigastudio, but a good amount about recording and music.

I'm an amateur filmmaker, looking to score some music tracks for my movies, and I THINK gigastudio will do what I need.

My question really is what hardware, especially the soundcard, do I need.

I was thinking in investing in the digidesign MBox, and using ReWire with Gigastudio and protools together, although I would rather not spend the money on protools and get involved with too much software for what I need.

My next question is, can I use gigastudio alone, without using a mix/recording utility like protools? Will gigastudio layer the instruments like one would do in protools to make a complete music peice?

If that is so, what audio/midi card would you recommend, and what keyboard would you recommend?

Thanks again,

Re: Help with setting up a gigastudio machine

Hi Allen, I can only recommend what I purchased and it's wonderful!
    First, you will need a DAW (digital audio workstation) like Sonar, Nuendo, Pro Tools or better yet, Digital Performer on a separate computer (Mac)