• Register
  • Help

Topic: Laptop and Soundcard

Share/Bookmark

Laptop and Soundcard

Hi everybody,

First of all this is a complete new world for me so yes... I'm a novice. I purchased G3 a week ago but I need a sound card device and I'm not sure if my laptop can handle G3.

Laptop:
    Packard Bell Easynote 3240 Video
    AMD Athlon +2400
    HD Fujistu 2.5" ATA-5 4200rpm Drive - 40GB
    480 RAM
    1,79 Ghz

Which sound card device should I use? I need few audio inputs. Midi has my main interest.

Thanks for helping me out,

Mark

Re: Laptop and Soundcard

Quote Originally Posted by kramusica
    Hi everybody,

Which sound card device should I use? I need few audio inputs. Midi has my main interest.

Mark
    Mark,

Echo makes a GSIF 2 sound card called Indigo. I have one myself and it's solid. It has a PCMCIA (CardBus) interface. Echo also makes a PCMCIA card (thats the female slot that's about 3" wide on your laptop) that will interface with some of their audio/midi modules though these products (Mona I believe) are fairly expensive. The Indigo is audio only though and you also need Midi I/O. Since you have USB 2.0 and probably only one PCMCIA interface, you will need to use that for Midi though I'm not certain how well it performs. I know people here have had poor response from USB 1.0 Midi. Though 2.0 is much faster, it may still not have the needed deterministic response. You will also eventually want to get more memory. Hopefully, someone here will tell us their experience with USB 2.0 Midi.
    Craig Duke

Thank you Craig for getting me on the way. I've noticed that Echo discontinued Indigo, Layla24, Gina24, Mina and Mona therefore pushing me a little bit more in the abyss of uncertainty.
    So I have to use a Card Bus besides a Midi I/O device?

I'm all ear for welcome suggestions. Thanks for helping,

Mark