• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: A real fusion piece

Share/Bookmark

Exclamation A real fusion piece

Here's a tune I wrote and started producing 11 years ago:

http://www.decamusic.com/the_perform...the_Dragon.mp3

At the time I was begining to learn the ropes of being a musician/composer/engineer/producer (I am still a beginner in many aspects)
    I made so many mistakes during these recordings...
    I was using 2 ADATs and a Digidisign audio media 2 with a 25 Mhtz Mac !
    I had no idea what dithering was so I was dithering the same tracks over and over

As time went by and I wasn't happy with the result, I would add some of the latest toys I had bought. I started these tracks with a Roland JV 80 and a Yamaha TX802. I used Battery for the drums and when Stylus came out I added some loops. I also used Reaktor for some percs loops and Pentagon 1 for some synth parts.

I had some of my friends come and play on these tracks:
    Will Calhoun is doing a percussion track using a Korg Wave drum,
    Ralph Bowen plays the tenor sax and the flute
    John Swana plays trumpet and the EV
    I play guitar

After leaving it alone for 2 years, this afternoon I brought up this tune that I never seemed to be able to finish. It's been 11 years now and I got sick of redoing it over and over...so I decided that I would just mix it with all its imperfections and come to a closure. That's it, no more. It's yours now.

I hope that you'll enjoy some of it, dated and all...

Thumbs up Re: A real fusion piece

Great piece - I love the turns in it, and each instrument's solo made me think "this is the best part" then "no... *this* is the best part"... right now it's a dead heat between the muted trumpet and the synth. There's some pretty stellar playing and a vibrant mix.

Thanks for sharing this, especially after all this time. It's certainly reached a nice vintage!
    Houston Haynes - Titan Line Music

Thumbs up Re: A real fusion piece

Ditto! Well done!