• Register
  • Help

Topic: A question about gigastudio and sequencer editing

Share/Bookmark

A question about gigastudio and sequencer editing

Hi Im new to gigastudio, been writing old fashioned just until recently when a fellow composer introduced me to the gigastudio platform.

Ive bought a pretty good computer and Cubase SX and a few sample libs to get me started.
    My question to you is about articulation. How do they work, if I for example would like a legato string patch and then the next couple of notes want it to to be staccato? Would i have to record them to a seperate midi channel or can I somehow change the art on the fly?

Giganoob [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]

A.Wald

Re: A question about gigastudio and sequencer editing

It depends on the library and how it\'s been programmed (or it depends on how you re-program it).

For instance, I have some woodwind libraries from Xsamples. I load just one sample file in a Giga channel that might be named something like \"Oboe C#1-A1\". This means that if I press the C#1 key on my controller I have one kind of articulation (let\'s say legato). If I press the D1 key on the controller, then the articulation changes to staccato. D#1 changes to another artc., etc. all the way up to the A1 key there will be different sample articulations or effects triggered. This ability to use keys to change samples is called \"Keyswitching\"

So, if you purchase libraries that have this keyswitching programmed then you can change the art. on the fly or just play it in (after all these lower keyswitching notes won\'t make any sound...they just switch to whatever sample(s) is programmed for that key.

I should also add that the same kind of sample change can be made with the mod wheel or foot pedal. For example. mod wheel in lower position triggers marimba forte hits...in middle position it triggers pianissimo hits...in full forweard position it could trigger a roll...etc.