• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Ivory Grand Piano: hiss in demos?

Question Ivory Grand Piano: hiss in demos?

Hi Folks,

I'm very much in doubt between a Roland SRX-11 expansion board (I have the 02) and the Ivory Grand. Of course, they're not completely comparable, but still...

When I listen to the Ivory demos (including the aiffs) I often hear a hiss. Could anybody tell (assure) me that this is weird demo-artifact or is it a known problem of Ivory? I would use my new piano both live and on recordings, and I'm looking for the best quality I can get.

Thank you very much!

Re: Ivory Grand Piano: hiss in demos?

I believe that Xavier can tell us more about Ivory and sympatic resonance/harmonics

He tried Ivory in a music store this afternoon !

Confirmed here.
    As a competing developer I should know better than to answer this for you but there is a considerable amount of hiss in the Ivory samples.

I have a sound clip here exposing it clearly, no eq, reverb or other "extra's" to hide or emphasis it.
    Sustain noise problem

That said, I certainly would not loose any sleep over it since all sampled pianos have some amount of hiss.

Yes even my own pianos have it to some extent!
    Actually every piano recording ever made (for sampling or otherwise) has a clearly detectable amount of hiss. This is a normal thing when you crank up a microphone pre-amp and record a quickly decaying sound. Although the initial attack phase of the piano note has a very high energy level (it will give a "ultra-hot" signal) the decay phase drops down quickly to - 30 or 50 dB, exposing the mechanical noise floor of both the room and the microphone electronic circuit. Ivory was recorded in a silent room, there is not much background noise I can detect, but the signal path must have had a fair amount of noise, which was not removed in post-processing.