• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: OT: Film Composer License Agreements

OT: Film Composer License Agreements

Since there's a lot of professional film composers out there, this is the perfect place to ask this.

My license agreement currently states that I own the master rights to all music that I write for a film and I give the film company sync rights.

However, I'm currently trying to wrap up a film scoring deal with a film company I've never worked with before and their agreement states the following:

Ownership of Written Music:
    The owner of the final written music used in the Picture that is written by Composer will be ABC Productions. ABC Productions will own 100% of all worldwide master rights to all music written by Mark D’Errico that is used in the Picture.

Ownership of Recording:
    The owner of the final recorded score used in the Picture that is written by Composer will be Mark D’Errico. Mark D’Errico will own 100% of all worldwide master rights to the recorded score for the Picture.

Copyright Considerations:
    The Producer is the author at law and owns all right, title, and interest in and to the Recording which are the results of Composer’s services rendered in connection therewith (all of which shall be considered as a "work-made-for-hire," specially commissioned by Producer as part of an audiovisual work), including without limitation all copyrights and renewals and extensions of copyrights therein.

To me, that seems completely backwards. So I did a quick search on the net and found the following:

Ownership of Sound Recordings:
    The owner of the final sound recordings for all music used in the Film will be CalvinWorks Publishing (ASCAP). CalvinWorks Publishing will own 100% of all worldwide master rights to all music written by Calvin Composer used in the Film.