• Register
  • Help

Topic: How much damage am I doing to my computer?

How much damage am I doing to my computer?

When I first got GS3 and Cubase running, I wasn't having any problems at all - things were going very smooth. Lately, I've been seeing some very weird behavior with regards to my CPU, GS3, & Cubase SX3.

It all started when I was in the middle of a pretty lengthy session. All of a sudden during playback I got an error from Cubase saying that the USB Protection device was not connected. This was followed by another error saying that Cubase needed to close because of the fact that the dongle wasn't being recognized. These two error windows overlapped each other then when I clicked 'ok' Cubase locked up and I heard a strange (annoying) ringing coming out of my speakers - followed by BSOD. I'm new to this 'Blue Screen' thing. Can someone tell me what "dumping of physical memory" means? Doesn't sound good at all.

From that night up until now, whenever I initially open Cubase to start a new session, just before it's done loading I get a little window with a heading "Giga3 device Error" or something to that effect. In the body of the error window are 2 or 3 characters (if I recall correctly non-alphanumeric). I click 'ok' then Cubase proceeds to open. When I select Devices/Giga3 in Cubase I get a message telling me to close GS3 when it isn't even open. So I close Cubase, open then close GS3, then open Cubase again and I'm able to use GS3 in rewire mode. Upon a fresh boot, if I try to open GS3 before I open Cubase, I get an error telling me that GS3 did not initialize correctly. Either way I have to go through this whole song and dance just to get both programs in sync.

With all of these errors and crashes and corrupt files, am I doing lasting damage to my computer? Will this thing last or will I try to turn it on one day and get a puff of smoke out of the case signifying the end?

Hardware -

Motherboard - ASUS P4C800-E DELUXE CANTERWOOD