• Register
  • Help

Topic: Vivaldi's Bassoon Concerto in Eb Major

Share/Bookmark

Vivaldi's Bassoon Concerto in Eb Major

Hey gang,

I just finished this orchestration for a Ohio Northern University's upcoming concert. As far as I can tell, it has only been published as a Bassoon Solo with Keyboard accompaniemnt. So, it was cool when they asked me to arrange it for String Orchestra and Continuo.

Anyway, here's the link for the MP3:

http://www.jonnylostinc.com/Vivaldi%...20Concerto.mp3

...And here's the score.

http://www.jonnylostinc.com/Vivaldi'...Eb%20Major.pdf

Let me know what you guys and gals think. This is my first attempt at ensemble building. Here's the instrumentation used:

Solo Bassoon
    Violin I (5 Players)
    Violin II (4 Players)
    Viola (3 Players)
    Cello (4 Players)
    Double Bass (3 Players)
    Harpsichord

It's probably a bit bottom heavy for the time period but, oh well, you'll have that! :-)

Thanks,
    Jonny
    For more information, check out www.jonathoncox.com/intro.html

"The trouble with music appreciation in general is that people are taught to have too much respect for music they should be taught to love it instead." - Igor Stravinsky

Re: Vivaldi's Bassoon Concerto in Eb Major

Excellent job, Jonny! Old "Tony" Vivaldi would be proud. I wish that I could hear the performance in person.

My best,

Larry A.

Jonny,

For your first go at it with the ensemble building you did an extraordinaryjob. Excellent orchestration. This is going to sound fanatastic live. Being able to do mock-ups for live orchestras is one of the reasons GPO was developed. I hope you record the live version. When will the concert be?

Gary Garritan

Gary,

I hope you are feeling better, my friend!

Thanks for the encouragement. I've played around with the ensemble building concept a bit, but this is the first time I've used it.

The Concert, I believe, is in March. I will definately be recording it, so I'll make sure to post it for you to listen to.