• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Steinway questions

Share/Bookmark

Question Steinway questions

I'm brand-spanking new to MIDI and GPO. I've been recording audio in various Cakewalk products for three years. Currently on SONAR PE4.

My machine:
    P4 3.0 ghz
    Intel 865Perl 800 fsb
    1 gig RAM

Now my questions...

I'm going be recording a class of young piano students. Should I record them using the audio outs of my Yamaha P-60 or use it to trigger the Steinway in GPO?

Do I have enough RAM to run the Steinway by itself?

Thanks,

Earl

Re: Steinway questions

1 gig of RAM should certainly be sufficient for the GPO steinway piano.
    Sean Patrick Hannifin
    My MP3s | My Melody Generator | my album
    "serious music" ... as if the rest of us are just kidding

Wow! Thanks for the speedy reply!

Muchos gracias!

Exclamation Re: Steinway questions

The big difference between "recording" your piano students from the audio outs and in a sequencer will be that you can store a LOT more MIDI on your computer hard drive than audio.

my $0.02 -- KevinKauai

[wish I'd had MIDI when I was slogging through all that early Bach and stuff in piano lessons -- think of all the "bloopers" I could have fixed in the "piano roll" editor is somethingl ike SONAR or Cubase!]

I have 300 gigs of storage in the machine and another 240 in external drives so that won't be an issue. But as I've been learning, I can tweak the MIDI notes much more efficiently and precisely than I can the audio.

Is it everyone's consensus that the Steinway in GPO will sound much better than the Yamaha, which sounds quite nice?

Quote Originally Posted by eclark
    Is it everyone's consensus that the Steinway in GPO will sound much better than the Yamaha, which sounds quite nice?
    A man walks into the Coca Cola Bottling plant, stands on top of a desk, and asks the workers, "What do you guys think tastes better, Coke or Pepsi?"
    Christopher Duncan
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~