• Register
  • Help

Topic: Library Advice Appreciated.

Library Advice Appreciated.

I'm studying writing to picture, had a couple of pieces pitched for T.V ads so far (didn't get them!), anyway I'd like to step up the orchestral side of my samples. Right now I'm using Halion Strings (which I like) mixed with Sampletank, this has been working fine within the context of a mix, but I have felt limited in choosing brass sounds particularly as ST only has a few decent ones. Anyway, I've tried GPO and have not been that impressed -Strings weaker than Halion Strings I think. So have been considering VSL Opus,EWQL Gold or stick with Halion Strings and adding Sam Brass/True strike and some woodwind library which I dont' know!.

I am using SX3/Halion3 and if necessary could use fxteleport with a second pc to run the orcestral Library.

Any advice welcome.

Re: Library Advice Appreciated.

I'm a halion 3 user myself nowadays .. I went from gigastudio to halion actually . If you are willing to put in just a moderate amount of time to transform any library that is not natively available for Halion into halion format, then you should not find any problem with purchasing a giga version of any sample library, since Halion supports everything that the giga 2 or 3 sample format can include. Sometimes it just doesn't transform correctly and then you need to adjust it by hand.

Halion strings are good, they can compete with some of the "top of the line" actually. If you want to save you money from purchasing a new strings, and just add to what you have right now, there are good libraries that provides sections separately. As for brass, some of the most respected today are: Kirk hunter, VSL, Project SAM, EWQL Platinum, Sonic Implants and Dan Dean.