• Register
  • Help

Topic: GigaPiano II Dilemma

GigaPiano II Dilemma

Am I the only one who thinks this piano sounds best in its "raw" state, without convolution? I am not entirely fond of the ambience applied in the modelled presets. Somehow it tends to get more metallic. However, with no convolution modelling I really miss the 'pedal down' effect and the 'release notes'! Is there a way to keep the dry and neutral sound of the "raw" version and yet introduce 'pedal down' and the 'release notes' with the same character?

I'm curious to hear your thoughts on this subject. Thanks!

Alex Cremers

Re: GigaPiano II Dilemma

I'm just getting started with Giga3, but I would think that you should be able to go into the program and adjust the parameters to achieve the sound you want ....If there's too much reverb or delay or whatever, just adjust to taste..I think you should be able to do a "Save as " when you have what you want ....Again, I'm just getting started, and I could be off base here ....Maybe some of the more competent Gigadudes or Gigagals, could chime in .
    A little tweaking could go a long way ....Jim

A lot of folks don't like this particular piano BECAUSE it sounds too metalicy and they also don't like the ambience in it ....You're not alone..... Myself ?
    I'm looking for a piano that is in between this piano, and the Vintaudio C7...
    A nice mix of both would work GREAT for me ....These are both great piano's in there own right ...

You're right. Let's edit GigaPulse! I know now what's causing the metallic ambience. It's GigaPulse preset N°14 which is creating a serious amount of "pedal up" resonance. Also, the "pedal down" resonance (preset N°15) is set way too high. When sliding the Mic Masters Perspective to a value of '342' (instead of the default's maximum) the result sounds less overwhelming and a little more realistic to my ears.

Yes, much better!

Alex Cremers