• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: How to tell how much RAM you're using?

Share/Bookmark

Question How to tell how much RAM you're using?

I'm just starting out with GPO and am wondering how to tell how much RAM you are using? I was loading samples and was surprised to get a message saying I was approaching my limit, but it didn't give any numbers.

I have 2GB of RAM. How much will be allocated to GPO, and is this something that can be adjusted?

Thanks for any help.

Re: How to tell how much RAM you're using?

Quote Originally Posted by aspenleaf
    I'm just starting out with GPO and am wondering how to tell how much RAM you are using? I was loading samples and was surprised to get a message saying I was approaching my limit, but it didn't give any numbers.

I have 2GB of RAM. How much will be allocated to GPO, and is this something that can be adjusted?

Thanks for any help.

Are you using Windows? You can bring up the task manager (right click tasbar, click "task manager") and then click the "processes" tab. Click the top of the memory column to sort by memory usage. On mine, the sonar process shows up there (something like SONARSTD.EXE) using 600-ish megabytes of memory on one of my projects.

How much RAM you use will really depend on which and how many instuments you are using. But if you're running out of RAM using GPO with 2 gigs, then you're either loading really large ensembles or you have other programs running that are eating up a lot of RAM. I'd try Thud's suggestion of using th task manager to while loading up your instruments to see how much memory is going towards GPO and your sequencer and how much is going to othe programs. It could just be that you have too many unnecessary background programs running.
    Tim

Question Re: How to tell how much RAM you're using?